Summer School ‘Equality and Citizenship’


— 16.06.2023.


— 14:15


_Konferencija, Znanost

  • FFRI

The Center for Advanced Studies of Southeast Europe, the University of Rijeka, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of Rijeka, and the Department of Philosophy in Rijeka are organizing the ninth edition of the summer school on equality and citizenship.

The summer school does not reproduce, in a diluted form, the familiar teaching format of a university course. Instead, it is organized around scientific workshops and “Author-Meets-Critics” symposia dedicated to some distinguished authors’ publications and work-in-progress. All the leading participants will give a paper on a topic on which they are working at the moment, or a precis to a recently published book, and will reply to the papers given by scholars who participate in the symposia dedicated to them.

The summer school will be held from June 12th to June 16th, 2023.

This year’s leading participants are:

Anna Elisabetta Galeotti (University of Eastern Piedmont, Vercelli)
Daniel Weinstock (University McGill, Montreal)

The participants of the workshop “Mental Disorders, Public justification, Capabilities, and Values” (comprehensive of the symposium dedicated to Prof. Daniel Weinstock) are:

Elvio Baccarini (University of Rijeka)
Ivan Cerovac (University of Rijeka)
Ana Gavran Miloš (University of Rijeka)
Shane Glackin (University of Exeter)
Kristien Hens (University of Antwerp)
Kristina Lekić Barunčić (University of Rijeka)
Emiliano Loria (University of Eastern Piedmont)
Sergio Filippo Magni (University of Pavia)
Luca Malatesti (University of Rijeka)
Iva Martinić (University of Rijeka)
Cristina Meini (University of Eastern Piedmont, Vercelli)
Roberta Sala (Vita-Salute San Raffaele University, Milan)
Thomas Schramme (University of Liverpool)
Areti Theofilopoulou (Institute of Philosophy of the Czech Academy of Sciences)
Miklós Zala (Central European University, Vienna)

The summer school is primarily directed to post-doc and doctoral participants. Post-doc and doctoral participants can contribute to the discussion by commenting and asking questions. Post-doc and doctoral participants will receive a certificate of participation that describes the activities in which they have participated at the summer school.


Participation to the Summer School is free, but participants need to register by sending an e-mail to:

If any further details are needed, please contact

Updated information regarding the summer school will be available at:

Directors of the summer school:

Elvio Baccarini
Ivan Cerovac
Iva Martinić
Snježana Prijić-Samaržija
Nebojša Zelič

Organization Board:

Ana Gavran Miloš
Viktor Ivanković
Kristina Lekić Barunčić
Luca Malatesti
Julija Perhat
Aleksandar Šušnjar
Miklosz Zala

Podijeli događanje na
Skip to content